How booming e-commerce pushes Alibaba up – Shaun Rein

0 Flares 0 Flares ×
Shaun Rein

Shaun Rein

Retail analyst Shaun Rein expects e-commerce in China to grow 50% year-on-year, giving its  leader Alibaba a gigantic headwind, now the industry has won the confidence of the consumers, he tells Bloomberg TV. And pollution forces buyers out of the shopping malls to Alibaba.

Shaun Rein is a speaker at the China speakers Bureau. Do you need him at your meeting or conference? Do get in touch or fill in our speakers’ request form.

China Weekly Hangout

Labor camps, the one-child policy, hukou’s, pollution, internet censorship, state-owned companies, energy policy: they are just a few of the subjects that appeared last week in the 21,000 character document released after the Third Plenum of the Communist Party, spelling out reform plans for the coming years.
The +China Weekly Hangout plans to discuss some of those plans and will ask panelist whether the Third Plenum did bear a mouse or an elephant. Pending a few logistical challenges, we will hold our online meeting on 21 November at 10pm Beijing time, 3pm CET and 9am EST. We will pick subjects, depending on the expertise of the people joining us on Thursday, and summarize with the question how likely it is president Xi Jinping will pull off the planned reforms.

You can read our announcement here or register at our event page for participation.

China’s internet companies going global

Should Facebook, Twitter and Google+ worry now Tencent, Baidu, Sina, Alibaba and Xiaomi have plans to expand globally, the China Weekly Hangout asked on September 5. Not yet, said investor William Yung, media-expert Paul Fox and Tech-in-Asia editor Steven Millward. Well, maybe Whatsapp should. Moderation by Fons Tuinstra of the China Speakers Bureau.

Enhanced by Zemanta